How It All Began at Camp Hi...
The Camp Hi property on the Cuyahoga River has been in the family since 1928. Robert Grueninger owned the property and operated Camp Hi for boys for 50 years. Camp Hi Canoe Livery had a modest start with an old limousine as the shuttle vehicle, a trailer, and six canoes.
In 1966, Helen Hazlett, the daughter of Robert Grueninger and the wife of George Hazlett, took over the business from her dad. Helen and George also wanted to share their love of the Cuyahoga River with others who, like them, enjoy nature and an outdoor experience with their friends and family members.
Illustration of Camp Hi Canoe Livery in early years.
Camp Hi operated by Helen and George.
George and his dog Suzy paddle along the river.
Since that time, Camp Hi has evolved to a fleet of over 250 canoes, kayaks, and paddle boards, the largest selection of boats in the area. Helen and George's daughter Kendra Hazlett-Becker, with the support of her patient family and staff, has been a long-time manager of the business and continues to maintain the legacy of her grandfather and parents.
The continuing goal of Camp Hi is to provide an ”Adventure in Your Own Backyard” experience. We want to promote the amazing and restorative experience of getting a few hours away from the daily routine along a peaceful river. It is such a revitalizing experience that can enrich people's lives and provide health and well-being.